Oregon Tax Preparer Continuing Education
Our courses have been approved by the IRS and are accepted by the Oregon Board of Tax Practitioners to help you meet your CE needs. All of our courses can be taken At Your Pace Online.
We will report your PTIN to the IRS within 5 business days of your course completion.
Oregon 30 Hour Complete CE Course
This package was designed specifically for Oregon Tax Consultants and Preparers to renew their licenses. This course covers the Internal Revenue Service's Publication 17 with an introduction to ethics for tax profesionals, then moves into the federal filing requirements and dates, the different federal filing statuses, personal and dependent exemptions, gross income, and standard and itemized deductions. Our courses have been approved by the IRS to meet your CE needs.
Oregon 3 Hour Taxation of Rental Income
This course will cover the Taxation of Rental Income and Expenses and Retirement Funds for the Internal Revenue Service. We will go over how taxpayers report rental income, expenses, and retirement funds, as well as income and expenses arising from rental properties, and how to report funds from retirement plans, pensions, annuities, and other similar arrangements.
Oregon 2 Hour Small Business Tax
Tax professionals can take this 2 hour class on filing and paying business tax as part of their continuing education. Topics of interest include accounting periods and methods, dispositions of business property, figuring cost of goods sold and gross profit.
Oregon 9 Hour Standard and Itemized Deductions
This course will cover the Internal Revenue Service's Standard and Itemized Deductions. While most taxpayers claim the standard deduction, some taxpayers will lower their tax bill by claiming itemized deductions. This course teaches you how to make this determination for your client.
Oregon 3 Hour Federal Filing Status
This course will cover the IRS' Federal Filing Status' which are filing single, married filing jointly, married filing separately, filing as head of household, and filing as a qualifying widow or widower.
Oregon 3 Hour Gross Income
This 3-hour course will cover one of the core components of calculating a tax return for a client, the matter of gross income as defined by the Internal Revenue Service, and some of the key definitions and areas of a client's income that will be taxed.
This will meet 3 hours of the 30 hour CE requirement Oregon tax professionals are required to satisfy.
Oregon 3 Hour Federal Filing Requirements and Federal Filing Dates
This course will cover the Internal Revenue Service's Federal Filing Requirements/Federal Filing Dates. The topics start with the basics of preparing a tax return, who must file and different filing status', as well as what forms and electronic filing options are available, alternative filing deadlines and extensions, and refunds and penalties.
Oregon 3 Hour Supplemental Gains and Losses
This course will cover the IRS' Supplemental Gains and Losses which include the federal tax laws that apply to small business owners who are sole proprietors and to statutory employees, along with the information necessary to understand business income, expenses, and tax credits which will help tax professionals best serve their clients.
Oregon 2 Hour Ethics for Tax Preparers
This course will satisfy the required 2 hours of Ethics for Tax professionals and will cover the basic concepts of ethics, the different types of professional ethics, terms that will be used when referencing ethics, ethical duties of tax professionals, unethical tax actions and their consequences, and what a sample code of professional responsibility for tax professionals looks like.
Oregon 2 Hour Adjustments to Income
Tax professionals can take this 2 hour class on what adjustments (deductions) to a taxpayer's income can be counted on Schedule 1 as part of their continuing education. Topics of interest include alimony updates, education-related deductions and their unique rules, the moving expense deduction for military servicemembers, and IRA deduction.
Oregon 2 Hour Business Expenses
Tax professionals can take this 2 hour class on what counts as a deductible business expense as part of their continuing education. Topics of interest include business use of the home, self-employment tax, business structures and their corresponding forms, and common business expenses.
Oregon 2 Hour Amended Returns
Tax professionals can take this 2 hour class on preparing amended returns as part of their continuing education. In the course, we give a basic introduction to amended returns before going into detail on Form 1040-X, including line-by-line instructions.
Oregon 1 Hour Other Items in an Oregon Personal Income Tax Return
This is a 1-hour continuing education class for tax professionals in Oregon. The focus of this class is other items that will be reported in an Oregon individual income tax return. The point of this class is to address additional items that need to be reported on state returns that do not fall into other categories. This class will cover such topics as net operating losses for Oregon, passive activity losses, deductions, and farm related tax items.
This course is approved by the Oregon Board of Tax Practioners (OBTP).
Oregon 1 Hour Other Income
Tax professionals can take this 1 hour class on other forms of income as part of their continuing education. Forms of income include bartering, canceled debts, proceeds from life insurance, repayments, royalties, public assistance benefits, and more. This course represents a thorough, though not exhaustive, resource for various types of income a taxpayer may need to report.
Oregon Licensed Tax Preparer Renewal Requirements
Being an Oregon-licensed tax preparer requires you to complete OBTP-approved CE and turning in your proof of hours to OBTP on time. This can be done online, right here though AYPO!
To make sure you're doing everything right, let's take a quick look at Oregon Tax Preparer continuing education requirements.
Oregon Licensed Tax Preparer Renewal Requirements
If it's your first-time renewal, then you are exempt from having to take CE.
To renew your tax preparer license with the OBTP each year after that, you really only need to do two things:
- Complete the required tax preparer course CE hours
- Submit your renewal to the OBTP
Let's look at each of those separately. How much continuing education does an Oregon licensed tax preparer need?
Each year, the OBTP requires you to complete 30 tax preparer course CE hours. Two of the hours need to focus on professional conduct and ethics.
These hours need to be taken from an education provider that's approved by the Oregon Board of Tax Practitioners (OBTP), the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), or the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA).
The good news? You can find approved OBTP CE online. Take your Oregon licensed tax preparer continuing education online and you can knock out your hours at your convenience throughout the year.
You have 13 months - from September 1 of the previous year to September 30 of the current year - to finish your tax preparer course CE. Your license expires on September 30 of each year, although there's a slight grace period (more on that later).
Once you're ready to renew your license, you can do so online. Submit your renewal - and pay the $80 renewal fee - by the end of September each year to maintain your status as an Oregon-licensed tax preparer.
If you don't and you want to renew in less than three years, you'll need to show proof of 30 hours of OBTP CE for each year during which your license lapsed. It can add up fast, so it's best to stay on top of your continuing education requirements.
Oregon Publication 17
Your tax preparer course CE should be about the information that's actually useful to you. And that includes training on the most current Oregon Publication 17 or the individual income tax guide. This keeps you current on the latest tax law and filing practices.
The best CE courses will include training on OR-17 so you're always up to date and ready to best serve your clients.
Oregon Tax Preparer License Renewal Deadline
As we mentioned before, to maintain your Oregon-licensed tax preparer status, you need to submit your renewal by September 30 each year. Generally, the OBTP opens renewals around mid-August to give you ample time to complete the process online.
That said, there is a slight grace period. Your license won't lapse as long as you submit your renewal by October 15. If you use that two-week grace period, though, be ready to pay an additional $35 late fee.
Remember: complete your 30 hours of CE each year and submit your renewal by September 30. Do those two things and you'll have no trouble keeping your license.